444-0047: Geoffroy - "C.A.Y.A."

"Come As You Are, And Don't Change"

Geoffroy is an essential voice in Canadian music. Ten years and three LPs into a career that has solidified him as one of Quebec’s best artists, the Montreal-born songwriter and producer takes the next step internationally with the release of fourth full-length, Good Boy, out June 14. 

Today the album’s first single, “C.A.Y.A” is available, along with a pre-save for the full LP. 

Listen Here

The project was spared with the intention of creating Geoffroy’s most authentic work to date, blending organic instrumentation and electronic elements into a bright and rich album filled with diverse sounds, a collection of songs that moves beyond the brooding dept that defined recent works.

This one was a real challenge to crack,” says Geoffroy of “C.A.Y.A.”

“I spent over a year messing around with the instrumental, had some awesome ideas, but none of them felt right. Still I couldn’t give up on this track. There was something special and I was determined to figure it out. Then just before our last recording session it finally clicked. The chorus came to me out of the blue and everything else just fell into place. The song is about being real and true to yourself, no matter what. It’s about sticking to who you are even when the world tries to push you to change.”

The official music video for “C.A.Y.A.” follows Geoffroy on a recent trip to Thailand where he played the single for people he encountered. The video, directed by longtime friend and collaborator Kyle Smith, expands on Geoffroy’s tradition of vibrant travel videos but adds an element of levity that matches that of the new music.

Geoffroy’s past releases have each reflected a different tone and period in the artist’s life and his evolution and experimentation with different sonic palettes. In this case, Good Boy sees Geoffroy look back and colaborate with longtime production partners Clement Leduc and Gabriel Gagnon, but also incorporate a diverse collection of new background musicians and singers that bring the album to life in vibrant colour.

That diversity was driven by a gradual shift in Geoffroy’s influences, having spent recent years immersing himself in the worlds of Cumbia music and a range of other Latin and African rhythmic styles that melded with his traditional singer-songwriter form to create something that feels truly international.

In fact the record’s narrative was inspired by a trip to Mexico where he befriended and ultimately adopted a shelter dog named Papi, bringing him from the streets of Mexico to Montreal. Papi serves as the mascot for the LP, but more importantly acts as an overarching metaphor for being lost, but ultimately found.

Geoffroy – Good Boy Tracklist

1. Only Child
2. Hotel Bed
3. Early Morning Sun
4. Blue
5. C.A.Y.A.
6. First Impressions
7. Recuerdo de Ti
8. Mac N Cheese
9. State Of Mind (Interlude)
10. Over You

© 444% 2021