Goodbye Karelle - Devil Town

As we near the release of the debut LP from Goodbye Karelle, today the Montreal-based actor, singer-songwriter and poet released a cover of the Daniel Johnston song “Devil Town” to coincide with the launch of a pre-order for the first run of vinyl.

Dropping on September 15, the LP is entitled Hugh Greene & the Lucies Made Me and can be pre-ordered here and here.

The journey to the LP has been a long one, starting years back when the artist began to reimagine their voice and artistic goals.


Our relationship with Karelle started at the end of a long, snowy highway in January 2022, when we drove to Hawkesbury, Ontario, along the Quebec border, to visit the studio where she was finalizing the music with co-writer and producer Jean-Philippe Levac.


There, in an old farmhouse-turned studio, we sat and discussed the ambitions for her music and the pivot from a career on-screen to that of a recording artist.

Amid a cold snap, looking out over acres of frozen farmland, the vision for her music was clear to us. Still, it’s best described in the artist’s own words: “I am coming to the end, after almost three years, of my first album as a singer-songwriter. Having no professional training in music, but having practised this art since my childhood, I drew my inspiration from the simplest details of the vagaries of the heart, as well as from the most complex experiences I have had throughout my young adult life.”


The project is thematically driven by the award winning actor ending a lifelong career in film and television to pursue her musical talent, amidst a new desire for personal expression.

Conflicts in gender, sexuality, and relationships form a unique and deeply expressive world for the listener. Goodbye Karelle emerges as storyteller and protagonist, a new voice in the musical wilderness.

Official music videos for “Sneakers” and “Moonroad” have already been released, as well as the LP cover (at top) and tracklist.


“I’m not someone who likes to go out, never been like that,” explains the artist. “This song and video are about and from a certain moment in my life where I was really sad and had to go out and meet new people, but was incapable.”


“My goal was to gather this album around the beautiful and painful complexity of the emotional relationships that have marked me in recent years. I want to use this opportunity to solidify my narrative and add more pages to the story I want to tell. I don’t want to take any intellectual shortcuts: this is not a side project. This is Goodbye Karelle.”


Goodbye Karelle – Hugh Green & The Lucies Made Me (September 15, 444%)


  1. Intro
  2. Sneakers

  3. Moonroad

  4. Devil Town

  5. Rainbowroad

  6. Interlude For You

  7. Gambetta Club

  8. Conwayroad

  9. Interlude

  10. Bird Brain

  11. Appleton Marina

Listen to Goodbye Karelle on 444%


© 444% 2021